WhatsApp finally launched disappearing photos feature. when you send a photo using the “view once” feature then it will disappear once the receiver seen it and leaves the chat. It was much awaited feature of WhatsApp and now WhatsApp officially adds this feature to the app. In this article you will get to know what is disappearing photos feature and how to enable disappearing photos feature in WhatsApp.
New feature alert!— WhatsApp (@WhatsApp) August 3, 2021
You can now send photos and videos that disappear after they’ve been opened via View Once on WhatsApp, giving you more control over your chats privacy! pic.twitter.com/Ig5BWbX1Ow
What is disappearing photos feature of WhatsApp.
WhatsApp has told users via twitter that any photo or video user send using the ‘view once’ feature will not saved to the recipient’s gallery. WhatsApp will not show that photo or video again to the recipient which is send using the ‘view once’ feature.
The recipient will not be able to forward, save, stare, or share that media (photo or video) that were sent using feature ‘view once’.
How to send view ‘Once Media’ (photo or video) on WhatsApp.
- Open WhatsApp and go to your friend’s profile.
- Now click on the attachment icon.
- now click on gallery, and select the photo or video which you want to send with ‘view once’ feature.
- After selecting the media you will see a clock like icon in the ‘ Add a caption’ bar.
- Just tape on the clock like icon and you will see a message pop-ups saying “photo set to view once” and the clock like icon will turned green.
Now you can send that photo or video with disappearing photos feature.
Things you should know about disappearing photos feature.
- WhatsApp told that if recipient didn’t open the photo or video with in 14 days of being sent, the media will expire from the chat.
- WhatsApp also told that one can be able to restore the view once media by backup if the message remains unread at the time of backup. But if the recipient already seen the ‘view once’ media at the time of backup then the media will not be included in the backup and can’t be restored.
Since the WhatsApp allow everyone to take screenshot or screen recording of chat, one can take screenshot and record screen of ‘view once’ media.
The sender will not get any notification if the recipient has taken screen shot or recorded screen of ‘view once’ media.
The recipient can also take picture or record video of view once media with a camera or other mobile before it disappear.
You should also aware that “the view once media may be stored for a few weeks on WhatsApp server after you have sent it”. says WhatsApp.
You may also like